A brave new world

I am new to blogging. I wouldn’t say that I am an avid follower of blogs, or that a read or follow a lot of blogs, but since starting my Ph.d this year, I have been thinking a lot about blogging. I have recently begun following a few blogs that deal with mainly my research and personal interests, and I have found myself wanting to react to a lot of things I read there, as well as a lot of things that are happening in the world around me. I could write a journal every night but I would also like to hear what other people have to say about these things, so this is my attempt at starting maybe a conversation on some of the things that I feel passionately about.

There is something liberating about writing I think, especially when one is not bothered or worried about how other people will react to it. Putting it out there into the world, in the form of a blog though, is inviting reaction to it, though there is still a certain anonymity to it.  I am hoping that this is going to be the middle path, the path where I am able to express myself without the fear of censure but at the same time get criticism as well as reaction to what I am writing.

“A critique does not consist in saying that things aren’t good the way they are. It consists in seeing on just what type of assumptions, of familiar notions, of established and unexamined ways of thinking the accepted practices are based… To do critcism is to make harder those acts which are now too easy. ” ― Michel Foucault

Leave a Reply

