The Year of the Protestor???

So I came across this TIME magazine yesterday, and I’ve been thinking about this cover image and their choice of the person of the year. Its telling I think of the importance that the recent uprisings and demonstrations have gained. The world has had to take notice and acknowledge them. At the same time I also feel that by making it about just the protest, the depth and importance of these uprisings has been diminished. As I am in London with my family at the moment, we have had numerous discussions on another very violent form of ‘protest’, the London Riots of 2011. So is protest for the sake of Protest justified? And does the protester have no moral obligations towards society? Does the end justify the means?

Leave a Reply

