A glimpse of informality in Bangkok

I’ve seen informal settlements around railroad lines in Mumbai and Delhi, I’ve never seen the kind of appropriation that you see in the video here. I cringe away from saying “pretty awesome”, but it is interesting to say the least. How we as designers assume that we have the know-how and the tools to design settlements, dwellings and spaces in the face of such ingenuity always surprises and disturbs me. At the same time, I don’t want to romanticise the conditions that these people are living in, but there is definitely ‘Value’ in their appropriating spaces around them with such creativity. I’d go so far as to say, that this creativity is something we can only admire because it comes from a place that one can only experience and not learn to access.

Well hell– I am romanticising it!

Leave a Reply

