When I started this blog, the idea had been to write more often and also to put myself out there more. Like a lot of people, I find it extremely hard to share my writing with others until its just right….the issue though then becomes that a lot things are never shared because they are just never right! Keith Harris recently reblogged the post below on our Reading Group blog and it was like a kick in the pants to me. In someways it feels like this has been written specifically for me and I particularly like the Architect metaphor. Here’s to “building” more often!!

Object-Oriented Philosophy

Mar 11, 2009 5:49 AM
philosophy : architecture
by doctorzamalek

And here’s another analogy I often have in mind… that philosophical work should be a bit like an architectural career.

To begin with, here’s the recipe for failure and autistic arrogance in philosophy:

“I have some great ideas. They’re not perfect yet, so I won’t publish them. Everything I read is worse than my own ideas. I will not lower myself to the level of publishing imperfect ideas. I am too conscientious to be as sloppy as others.”

This is a great way to take 12 years or forever on a Ph.D., and ultimately quit, all while telling yourself that no one else is really up to your level.

NO!!!!!! Do not go down that path.

Think like an architect. An architect has to build. To build, you have to take the opportunities that come to you. Yes, you may…

View original post 830 more words

One thought on “

Leave a Reply

